« Home | mr. wilkins? » | a sighting perhaps? » | out » | married to the sea » | photos » | barbecue and the holy ghost » | the new york five » | genius of the week » | a most fantastic find » | the admirals other hobby » 


album of the week

let's start back with one that really hits:

james brown

1. There It Is (Live)
2. She's The One
3. Since You Been Gone
4. Untitled Instrumental
5. Say It Loud (Say It Live)
6. Can I Get Some Help (Unedited)
7. You Got To Have A Mother For Me
8. Funk Bomb (Instrumental)
9. Baby Here I Come
10. People Get Up And Drive Your Funky Soul (Remix)
11. I Got Ants In My Pants (And I Want To Dance) (Remix)
12. You've Changed
13. Bodyheat (Alternate Mix)

James Brown's most groundbreaking period, 1968-72 or so, has always been a little under-appreciated and the world is still learning how important his work at that time truly was. Of course, during these years James was almost single-handedly inventing funk, with some of the most relentless and tightest bands the world has ever seen. Even the unreleased outtakes were still extremely influential to large chunks of the music world. This is a remastered reissue of a compilation that was put together in 1988, which in turn collected outtakes from the funk years. Here we can see the building blocks of all funk to come, as later musicians built entire empires on the ideas that James starts here.

Links to this post

Create a Link